Posted by: rachelbarnes | June 16, 2009

Jewelry ideas

So I’ve been on a little bit of a jewelry kick lately.  I love the concept that you can double the options of your wardrobe without purchasing any new clothing (changing the look of your outfits with jewelry).

First I made this necklace.  I saw the idea for it on an picture up on the wall at Michael’s.  I basically used the beads shown as well as a antique nickel looking chain and some jump rings to connect the beads to the chain.  I liked the dis symmetry of it, and the fact that there is only one of the shiny oblong looking bead at the bottom of the necklace.

I went to a local specialty bead store that we have in town.  I was amazed that I could spend a small amount on two beads and use existing wire I have to get a pair of earrings!

To make the earring hooks, I used a Thing-a-ma-jig.  Here is the pattern for earring hooks.  There are TONS of ideas on that website how to make jewelry objects with the wire jig.  I bought one a long time ago and I wanted an excuse to actually use it.  I’m trying to get better at using what I already have.  For the earrings shown below I used 18 gauge wire.  The wire is plated, not solid sterling silver.  I really liked the flower beads, they go with everything.

The next earrings were also made with beads I got at the specialty bead store.  I used solid sterling silver 26 gauge wire for this pair.  I liked how the beads look like rough cut glass.

And finally another necklace.  I bought the chain at Hobby Lobby and the beads and flower closure at the specialty bead store.  To connect the beads to the necklace, I used straight stainless steel wire with a tiny ball on the end.

Last but not least I made a bird’s nest ring.  I made this earlier in the spring this year, I was craving something to make that was spring-like.  I used 16 gauge wire for the ring.  To make the ring, I went to Hobby Lobby and fit one of my existing rings onto a dowel rod.  I found a dowel rod that was an exact fit to my ring and now use it to wrap wire or other material around to make a ring that fits my finger.  I wrapped the beads on top of the ring and then wrapped 28 gauge wire around many, many times until I thought it looked enough like a bird’s nest.

I bought some beads 1/2 off at Hobby Lobby so I hope to make some more jewelry in the near future to share with you.  If you’ve found any good tips on making jewelry, please share!

Responses

  1. Nice work! I love this nacklace. This year I bought some great mizpah jewelry from http://www.giftavia.com for my mom. Now I know what to do next year. Thanks for posting. :-)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

