Posted by: rachelbarnes | August 5, 2009

Baby white pumpkins, steevia, lavender, and other herbs

I have a garden update to share with you.  My little pumpkin patch is taking off!  I planted three of the blue pumpkin plants and one of the baby white pumpkin plants.  Here’s a picture of the patch.  The white pumpkin plant is exploding!

Here are some close up pictures of the baby white pumpkins.

This is my first time growing pumpkins. I’ve been so excited that they’re actually growing.  One thing I learned in growing them is that they need a lot of water.  I would typically water my plants every other day, but I’m finding that my pumpkins need water every day.  When I’ve not watered them, the flowers will shrivel up instead of staying open to pollinate.  As far as directing the plants, I’ve not gotten into pruning, but I have been moving the vines to grow where I want them to grow (growing up the fence), which has been very convenient.  I haven’t seen any blue pumpkins sprouting yet, only the baby white ones.

This my second year for the lavender plant.  I’m growing Provence lavender which has such a lovely scent!  I really don’t do anything special to the plant.  I’ve been cutting the lavender stems as they bloom to dry and keep for further crafting adventures in the future.  I’ve read that the Provence lavender has one of the stronger scents so that was really the only reason why I picked it to grow.

I’m trying steevia this year.  The plant is really taking off as well!  It’s the tall green stalk pictured below.  A friend of mine has grown it, she shared that she lets it grow all season, cuts off the stem, lets the leaves dry, and then harvests the leaves.  She recommended to grind the leaves in a coffee grinder (so it’s somewhat powdery), and then use as a sugar alternative.  I’m really excited for the season to be done so I can harvest it.  I’m interested to see what the leaves taste like in my tea drinking times this winter.

I’m also growing some chamomeal, thyme, and bergamont (not pictured).  That’s my garden update so far.  I tried the upside down tomatoes in my own 5 gallon buckets, but they didn’t make it.  If you have any good herb recipes, please share!

Responses

  1. What are you going to do if you have to move before all of your garden is done producing?

  2. An organic mulch around the the base of the plant will help maintain some of the moisture. You can use grass clippings, straw or pine needles. We did this and it helped tremendously.
    Good Luck!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

