Posted by: rachelbarnes | November 19, 2008

natural fire starter, egg carton video tutorial

I found this lovely video tutorial I wanted to share.  We’ve had a common problem at home to get a fire started in our fireplace, quickly,  without lighter fluid.  I’ve wanted to find a more natural way to get a fire started rather then using lighter fluid.  Watch the video link.  This uses items we had around our house already, paper egg cartons, dryer lint, and candle wax.

http://www.metacafe.com/watch/379936/homemade_fire_starter_tutorial/

I modified this tutorial slightly.  We have a candle warmer, so I used this instead of boiling the wax on the stove. 

I think I’m going to use these fire starters as a a part of Christmas gift baskets for friends of mine that like to go camping or have a fireplace.

Leave a Reply

Categories

