Posted by: rachelbarnes | July 27, 2009

Gauge tip on the go, knitting update, leather scraps

Knitting has been my craft of choice through the process of putting our house up for sale.  I’ve been doing some traveling lately and I found myself in the car with a knitted swatch without measuring tape.  I wanted to share this tip I came up with that helped me measure the gauge swatch without a ruler.  We had a piece of printer paper in the car.  I took the width of the sheet and folded it in half and half again.  So what was originally 8.5″ became 2.125 or 2 1/8″.  I kept in mind the paper was barely over 2″ to measure my gauge.

Here’s a picture for reference (not the best of pictures, but it gives you a visual).

Do you have any tips like this for knitting on the go, improv. tools you’ve found in your car, purse, etc.?  If you do, please share!

I’ve not knitted much with cotton, but I’ve now fell in love with Cotton-Ease. It’s really nice to knit with.  Summer, of course, has put me in the mood for cotton things instead of wool.  Here is a picture of a baby bib I did on a car trip the other day.  I found the pattern on ravelry.

Here’s the link to my project on ravelry, with a link to the pattern.

I’m also working on a kick sack for a friend of mine that just had a baby.  It’s going pretty quick.  It’s a fun alternative to a baby blanket (trying to help prevent SIDS).  The picture shows the top of the sack (which is an easy cable rib).  The rest of the kicksack is stockinette stitched.  It’s like a baby sleeping bag.

Here’s a link to my project on ravelry, with a link to the project.

My ravelry name is knittinluv.  If you’re on ravelry, feel free to add me as a friend.

Here’s a picture of a find, we found a leather shop in a our recent travels that sold scrap leather for a steal!  I packed the leather away in a moving box, but  I hope to explore sewing leather in the future for some change purses, maybe a purse with a vintage sewing machine I inherited.  If you’ve worked with sewing leather for crafts or have any tips, let me know.

Leave a Reply

Categories

